Different Color trees for different ideas

254973_2058852759968_3056866_nImageImageImage

Every artist is different, right? And every artist knows that all of us from the pop singer to the Celtic poet we all share a similar core. With that core often comes writers block. 10 years ago I started as an actress, progressed to a filmmaker, and now I’m a writer. I’ve never had any creative blockage at all until I became an actual working writer. Since I’ve found that I am much more comfortable living in my mind. Hence I don’t like to travel at all, it makes me incredibly nervous. Unfortunately for me I’ve found that I’m at my creative peak when I leave my home and travel to other places.

My first major writers block came in 2007 when I was 15. To me it seemed my career was over because I had gone nearly 6 months without any new work. My parents decided to send me to L.A. since I would graduating my home schooling high school program that Spring to see if any stress would come off of my shoulders. They also thought that me seeing L.A. would help me decided if an acting and film career was still in the question. If I didn’t like L.A. it didn’t seem like an acting career would ever happen since L.A. is the film capital. I came back to Miami a week later not only did I enjoy L.A. but I came back inspired. After 5 miserable months I was able to start my work AND finish it.

The second major writers block came right after I graduated from film school. Between the stress in moving to L.A. and balancing a double internship I found myself starting projects that I didn’t finish. (One of my major rules is to always finish something that I start.) Sure enough driving from Florida to California had given me a fresh state of mind that I was able to get back to work on my projects. Something about seeing ‘the old west’ got my wheels turning.

Since then I’ve seen many beautiful sights from my own backyard to miles away. The secret rivers in Ocala, the flash of green at sunset in Miami, the peach grove in Georgia, the Indian writing in the caves of Alabama, the church in Indiana, the museum in Washington, the civil war grounds in Virginia, the colored trees in Maryland, the lifestyle of the Italians in New Jersey the list goes on and on. I hate traveling, yes. I get air sick, sea sick, and carsick because I’m out of my comfort zone. I’ve been to 17 states all at least 3 times and I refuse to leave the country. However if you’ve seen all the beautiful things that I’ve seen you’d understand why this is one of the many assets that has me living a wonderful and full life as a human being. If you’ve seen all the beautiful things that I’ve seen you’d understand why I never run out of new ideas for a new story.

Leave a Reply

